Parkinson Signs Limited is a family owned and family run business that was founded in 1946. We are proud to be celebrating our 70th anniversary in 2016.
We began as Parkinson and Worden with founder Arnold Parkinson. Arnold began his training as an electrician at the Star Paper Mill in Blackburn and the went onto Mullard’s during the second world war period.
The company was founded in 1946 and specialised in making neon and code cathode tube signs, but, of course, has since expanded to provided a full range of signage services.
In 1960, the business moved to the same premises we occupy now with its dedicated workshops. It was at this site we created the iconic 10 foot high letters for the famous Blackburn landmark, the Thwaites Brewery Tower. These signs are still maintained by us today!
Arnold’s son, Gordon, took over the business in 1986 who invested in modern machinery and processes.
Third generation, Ian helped move the business into the digital age incorporating computer aided design and digital output.
Some things have changed dramatically over the years, but at the heart of the company remains our commitment to high levels of customer care.